How to Restore Your Driver’s License After OWI
Operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) is one of the most common crimes committed by Michigan residents. Unfortunately, penalties can be stiff. An individual charged and arrested for OWI could face several consequences including steep fines, jail time, and a negative effect on their career. Additionally, their license can be suspended or revoked after they’ve been charged with OWI or if they refused an OWI chemical test.
If an individual’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked, there are certain steps they must take to restore it. This includes paying necessary fines, reinstatement fees, and attending hearings. The process can be stressful. Nevertheless, there are options available for fighting an OWI charge and even getting restricted driving privileges restored.
OWI License Reinstatement Attorney Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
If you have been charged and arrested for operating while intoxicated in Michigan, we advise you to hire a Michigan DUI attorney as soon as possible. OWI is a serious offense that can result in a loss of driving privileges and crippling penalties. J. Dallo at Dallo Law, P.C. has extensive knowledge and practice defending clients from OWI charges.
Dallo Law, P.C. accepts clients throughout the greater Oakland County and Macomb County area including Pontiac, Troy, Waterford Township, Oakland Charter Township, Royal Oak, Clarkston, Rochester Hills, Auburn Hills, Birmingham, Utica, Romeo, Warren, Sterling Heights, Eastpointe, St. Clair Shores and New Baltimore. Call (248) 283-7000 to set up your free consultation with OWI defense attorney J. Dallo. He will aggressively defend you.
- OWI License Suspensions in Michigan
- Steps to Restore Driver’s License After OWI
- Preparing for Driver License Appeal Hearing in Michigan
- Additional Resources for Restoring Your Driver’s License After OWI
Having a driver’s license suspended in Michigan can be frustrating. Michigan law requires the Secretary of State to suspend or revoke a person’s driver’s license for certain violations. A driver may lose the privilege to operate a vehicle because of a first offense drinking and driving charge. If an individual is convicted of a first offense OWI, they will have to face a mandatory 30-day driver’s license suspension. During the first 30 days, the driver will not be able to operate their vehicle for any reason which includes school and work.
In Michigan, an individual can also have their driver’s license automatically suspended if they are convicted of refusing chemical testing. Under Michigan’s implied consent law (MCL 257.625c), all drivers must submit to a chemical test if a police officer has a reasonable suspicion that the driver is operating a vehicle while impaired. They will automatically have their driver’s license suspended for a mandatory period of one year.
If an individual’s license has been revoked after OWI, they must request a hearing from the SOS (Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight with the Secretary of State). This can be done through their official website: Request for Hearing form. All drivers must submit documentation of sobriety which includes three to six community support letters, a current substance abuse evaluation, a 12 panel drug test, an ignition interlock report and documentary evidence of attendance at support meetings.
If a driver is charged with a first offense OWI, they will face a license suspension. If convicted, the Secretary of State will suspend their driver’s license for 45 days. After 45 days, the individual will be eligible for a restricted driver’s license, but only after they install a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) in their automobile. To restore the driver’s license, the individual must pay all fines they owe and pay a $125 reinstatement fee.
An individual must request a driver license appeal hearing through writing. All requests need to be mailed or submitted electronically. Additionally, the driver must request a hearing with a substance abuse evaluation that’s dated not more than 3 months before the date it will be received by the department. A substance abuse counselor can prepare the evaluation and fill it out before the appeal hearing.
Once a hearing has been scheduled, the individual will be notified of the time, date, and location. They can bring an attorney and purchase a transcript of the hearing once it has ended. A written decision will be emailed. If the driver disagrees with the hearing decision, they can appeal the decision to a Michigan circuit court.
Additional Resources for Restoring Your Driver’s License After OWI
Michigan Secretary of State: Getting Your License Back – Click the link to view information in regard to getting your license back. The webpage lists sobriety court FAQs, revocation reviews, license hearing requests, and tips on how to prepare for your driver license appeal hearing.
Michigan Secretary of State: Substance Abuse – Visit the official website of Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight with the Secretary of State. The webpage lists information on substance abuse and driving.
Oakland County OWI Defense Attorneys, Michigan
If you’ve been accused of OWI in Bloomfield Hills, MI, we advise you contact a highly experienced DUI defense law firm. J. Dallo at Dallo Law, P.C. has extensive knowledge and practice defending clients from OWI related charges. He can utilize his in-depth understanding of the law, resources, and skills to formulate a strong defense for your case.
Dallo Law, P.C. has offices in Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, but accepts clients throughout the greater Oakland County and Macomb County area. Criminal defense attorney J. Dallo also serves clients in areas including Pontiac, Troy, Waterford Township, Southfield, Clarkston, Novi, Rochester, Utica, Armada, Clinton Township, Warren, Sterling Heights and Mount Clemens.