If you’ve arrested for a third operating a vehicle while impaired (OWI) offense, you don’t have a lot of time to waste. A third OWI conviction at any point in your life is classified as a felony with a minimum mandatory jail sentence of 30 days that could span up to one year. Your license will also be revoked for up to one year. However, if you had a prior within 7 years, then your driver’s license will be revoked for at least 5 years minimum.
These startling penalties mean there’s no time to be idle, if you’ve been charged with a third OWI offense we urge you to gain legal representation. An experienced and skilled OWI defense attorney with extensive trial practice can undermine and poke holes in the prosecution’s argument so your penalties are reduced or dismissed altogether. Secure legal guidance and support early by hiring an experienced and skilled attorney today.
Third DUI Defense Attorney in Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
A third OWI conviction is automatically a felony that carries mandatory jail time. With such harsh penalties, we urge you to gain legal representation with Dallo Law, P.C. as soon as possible. J. Dallo of Dallo Law, P.C. has extensive trial experience with all types of drinking and driving offenses including multiple OWI offenders. He can advise you of all your legal options and aggressively advocate for your rights in the courtroom whether it’s your first, second, or third OWI.
Set up your first consultation for free with Dallo Law, P.C. by calling (248) 283-7000. Dallo Law, P.C. is located in Bloomfield Hills, but we practice throughout the greater Oakland County and Macomb County area including Pontiac, Troy, Waterford Township, Royal Oak, Southfield, Novi, Clinton Township, Sterling Heights, Mount Clemens, and St. Clair Shores.
- What Are the Penalties for a Third DUI in Michigan?
- Penalties for a Third OWI Offense in Michigan
- Additional Resources
What Happens to Your License After a Third OWI in Michigan?
Under Michigan law, a third offense within your lifetime for drunk or impaired driving can be charged as a felony.
In addition to the penalties listed below, if you are charged with a third offense for drunk or impaired driving within 10 years of a prior, then your driver’s license will subject to revocation and denial if there are:
- 2 convictions within 7 years; or
- 3 convictions within 10 years.
The minimum period of revocation and denial is one (1) year, but a minimum of five (5) years is required if there was a prior revocation within seven (7) years.
Your driving privileges will remain suspended or revoked less or until you are successful at the administrative license restoration hearing with the Secretary of State’s Driver Assessment and Appeal Division (DAAD).
Your vehicle might be immobilized for 1 to 3 years, unless the vehicle is forfeited. Your license plate might be confiscated.
When you are allowed to drive again, you might be required to pay a $1,000 driver responsibility fee for two years after you become eligible to drive again.
Penalties for a Third OWVI Offense in Michigan
The penalties for a third OWVI conviction within 10 years of a related offense include the following:
- $500 to $5,000 fine, and either of the following:
- 1 to 5 years imprisonment
- Probation, with 30 days to 1 year in jail.
- 60 to 180 days community service.
- 4 points added to the offender’s driving record.
SOS | Michigan Drinking and Driving Laws – Visit the official website for the Secretary of State, Jocelyn Benson, to find a handy guide on OWI laws in Michigan. Access the site to find out the penalties for both standard OWI as well as high BAC OWI convictions. Then look through their related content links for information on CDL drivers, IID, BAIID installer info and more.
Sobriety Court | Oakland County, MI – Visit the official website for Oakland County, Michigan to read up on the sobriety court option included in the 52nd District Court, Division 2. Access the site to learn more about the programs requirements, the benefits of participating in Sobriety Court, and the contact information of the Sobriety Court Coordinator.
Oakland County Attorney for 3rd OWI in Michigan
Michigan’s restrictive OWI laws are not kind to offenders with multiple convictions. A guilty conviction could mean time in prison, expensive fines, and a slew of other possible conditions the judge may impose on your sentence. Not to mention the fact you’ll now be labeled as a felony if this is your third or subsequent OWI conviction. With so much on the line, it’s important you have a defense you can count on with extensive experience handling OWI cases.
If you’re in need of legal representation, consult Dallo Law, P.C.. J. Dallo of Dallo Law, P.C. has been representing OWI cases for years with positive results and can do the same for you. He can analyze evidence, file motions to suppress incriminating evidence, find experts to back your defense, and fight aggressively for your rights and liberty in court. To set up your first consultation free with Dallo Law, P.C., call us at (248) 283-7000. Our office is located in Bloomfield Hills, but we practice throughout the greater Oakland County and Macomb County area.