A sex offender in the State of Michigan who is found guilty of certain sex crimes must meet the following requirements when adding their name to the sex offender registry. Personal information such as the individual’s photograph, birthdate, physical description, address, and information about the criminal charge will appear on the registry. The guilty individual will also have to re-register every year. Typically, registration and re-registration occur in person and may occur up to four times per year, depending on the severity of the crime committed.
Throughout registration, offenders are required to report any name changes, address changes, and changes to employment status or location. It is also a requirement that these changes be reported within three days of the change occurring. Finally, any individual on the list must not work, reside, or be present in a student safety zone. Student safety zones are typically parks, schools, daycares, etc. These restrictions occur even after school hours.
Michigan Sex Offender Registry Attorney
If you have been charged with a sex offense and must register as a sex offender in Michigan, you should contact a criminal lawyer. An experienced defense attorney such as J. Dallo at Dallo Law, P.C. can offer aggressive legal representation in court and in registration removal proceedings. J. Dallo has been practicing criminal defense for years and has the knowledge needed to fight any sex crime accusation.
Call Dallo Law, P.C. today at (248) 283-7000 to set up your first consultation free. Dallo Law, P.C. has offices located in Bloomfield Hills, and accepts clients throughout the greater Oakland County and Macomb County area.
- The Sex Offender Registry Act
- Can Juveniles Be Put On The Registry?
- Can The Registration Be Removed?
- What Happens If An Offender Moves To Another State?
- Additional Resources
The Sex Offender Registry Act
In Michigan, the Sex Offender Registry Act (SORA) governs the circumstances under which an individual found guilty of a sex crime must register as a sex offender. The act also provides specific reporting requirements for these individuals.
According to the act, many types of crimes require an individual to register. The crimes for the registry are classified according to a tier system the act provides. The system has three tiers, and tier-one crimes are the least severe.
Tier one crimes include:
- Indecent exposure in the presence of a child
- Fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct
- Inappropriate touching of a victim under 18
- Possession of child pornography
- Sexual misconduct by a sexually deviant person
- Any conspiracy to commit or attempt to commit any of the above offenses
Individuals found guilty of a tier one offense must register and remain on the registry for 15 years after their conviction.
Tier two crimes are more serious and include:
- Second-degree criminal sexual conduct
- Sodomy if the victim is between 13 – 18 years old
- Distribution of child pornography
- Solicitation of a minor for sex (virtually or in person)
- Gross indecency against a minor
Individuals guilty of a tier two crime must register and remain on the registry for twenty-five years.
Tier three crimes are the most serious:
- First-degree criminal sexual conduct or rape
- Third-degree criminal sexual conduct or statutory rape
- Assault with intent to commit criminal sexual conduct
- Other sex crimes involving minors under the age of 13
Individuals guilty of a tier three crime must register and remain on the registry for life.
Can Juveniles Be Put On The Registry?
Under Michigan law, any individual under the age of 17 may have the opportunity to be tried as a juvenile. Juveniles can be prosecuted for criminal sexual conduct and other sex crimes just like adults are. But, are juveniles required to be on the registry?
The answer depends on the situation. SORA states that no individual under the age of 14 will be subject to being placed on the registry. Still, any juvenile fourteen or older may be placed on the registry, depending on the surrounding circumstances. SORA provides for required registration if an individual who is 14 or older has committed a tier three offense. This offense is recorded on the registry for the child’s lifetime. Unless the child was tried and convicted as an adult, the offense would only be placed on the non-public registry. Finally, the child can petition the court to have the length of the registration reduced to twenty-five years in certain circumstances.
Can The Registration Be Removed?
For juveniles and adults, the State of Michigan offers sex offender registry relief under certain circumstances. Depending on the date of the conviction and the surrounding circumstances, the individual may be able to petition the court to either allow them to remove their name from the list or shorten the time in which they are required to stay on the list. Once an individual’s name is removed from the list, they will likely have an easier time finding jobs and housing, and it will likely clear up other issues they may be having.
What Happens If An Offender Moves To Another State?
If an offender from the State of Michigan moves to another state, they must report the move to local law enforcement within three days and provide their new address. The Michigan State Police Sex Offender Registration Unit will take the proper measures, notify the other state, and provide the offender’s new address. If the offender moves to another country, they are required to give notice to the Michigan State Police at least 21 days before their move to another country.
Once the offender leaves the state, they will no longer appear on the Michigan sex offender registry. They will no longer be required to be registered in Michigan unless they relocate back to Michigan but they will likely be required to register with their new home state.
Michigan Sex Offender Registry | Michigan State Police – This resource is the publicly available sex offender registry provided by the Michigan State Police.
Victim Resources | Prosecuting Attorneys Association of Michigan – This resource provides information for victims of crimes and resources available to them.
Bloomfield Hills Sex Offender Registry Lawyer | Oakland County, MI
If you have been charged with a sex crime that could land you on the sex offender registry for life, you have a great deal at stake and owe it to yourself to speak with a qualified criminal defense lawyer in Michigan. J. Dallo at Dallo Law, P.C. is knowledgeable and experienced sex crime attorney that can provide a strong, effective defense against those charges.
Set up your first consultation by calling Dallo Law, P.C. at (248) 283-7000. Our firm accepts clients throughout the greater Oakland County and Macomb County area including Oakland Charter Township, Royal Oak, Clarkston, Southfield, Bloomfield Hills, Warren, Sterling Heights, Romeo, Utica, Roseville, and Eastpointe.