Sex offenses are harshly prosecuted in the state of Michigan and one of the most severe consequences for the crime is that you may be required to register as sex offender. The designation could follow you for life depending on the circumstances of your conviction and carries a heavy stigma. What’s worse is that if you’re accused of failing to register in time, you could be charged with an additional crime. Even if the act was simply just a mistake.
If you or someone you know has been arrested for failing to register as a sex offender, seek out legal counsel as soon as possible. Failing to register in Michigan is a felony offense and if you’re convicted you could be sentenced to years in prison. That is why it’s incredibly important you’re prepared with an experienced defense team if you’ve been accused of failing to register as sex offender.
The penalties for failing to register as a sex offender are too steep to be going into the courtroom alone. Contact J. Dallo of Dallo Law, P.C. to speak to an experienced criminal defense attorney with extensive practice defending failure to register cases. He can assess the facts surrounding the case and utilize his resources and skills to develop a formidable defense for your case. Get started on your defense as soon as possible by contacting Dallo Law, P.C.
Schedule your first consultation with J. Dallo of Dallo Law, P.C. by calling our number at 248-283-7000. Dallo Law, P.C. is located in Bloomfield Hills, but accepts clients throughout Oakland County and Macomb County including Clinton Township, Sterling Heights, Mount Clemens, Roseville, Utica, Fraser, Troy, Pontiac, Southfield, Royal Oak, Rochester Hills, and Rochester.
Information Center:
The majority of sex offenses in Michigan will require the defendant to register as a sex offender with the state database. Once they’ve completed the initial registration, the individual will be required to periodically verify their information with law enforcement to ensure the database is current. Even if you were deemed a sex offender in another state, you will still be required to register with the state of Michigan if you’ve moved to the area.
In Michigan, sex offenders are classified by tiers and there are three based on the heinous nature of their offense. Each tier has a different set of registration requirements the sex offender must meet. How many times the individual must verify their information with law enforcement will depend on their tier.
When sex offenders initially register, they must input specific information including:
If the sex offender does any of the following, they must inform law enforcement of the updated information three days after any of the following occurs:
If you plan to move to another state, you must tell the registering authority within your jurisdiction to report where your new residence will be.
Sexual offenders are allowed to leave the country under Michigan law. However, you must report in person and notify the registering authority within your jurisdiction where your new residence is located not later than 21 days before you travel to another country for more than 7 days. If the trip is shorter than 7 days, you are not required to report the change in residence.
You must provide law enforcement with the name of the new country, the city you’ll be staying in, and the address of your new residence. If you don’t update your registering authority, you’ll be charged with failure to register as a sex offender.
The penalty for failure to register will depend on what information was omitted/not updated from the registering authority. If you fail to do any of the following, you’ll be charged with a high court misdemeanor punishable by up to two years in jail and a $2,000 fine.
You must also sign a registration and notice to comply with Michigan’s sex offender laws. The registration and notice must be forwarded to the registering authority. If you fail to sign the notice and registration, then you’ll be charged with a misdemeanor punishable by up to 93 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
In addition to the notice and registration, you’ll be required to pay a $50 fee for initial registry. You will have to continue these payments annually until the sum of the payments doesn’t exceed $550. Failure to pay your registration fee within 90 days will result in a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to 90 days in jail.
Intentionally and knowingly failing to register as a sex offender will result in a felony offense. The statutory penalties for willfully failing to register as a sex offender include:
Sex Offender Registry FAQ | MSP – Visit the official website for the Michigan State Police to learn more about sex offender laws in Michigan. Access the site to find answers to your frequently asked questions including if sex offenders are tracked, if juveniles are on the registry, and what happens if you violate these laws.
Sex Offender Registration Act | Michigan Statutes – Visit the official website for the Michigan Statutes to learn more about their laws pertaining to sex offenders and the sex offender registry. Access the site to learn the penalties for violating sex offender laws.
If you have been accused of failing to register, contact Dallo Law, P.C. It may feel as if the cards are stacked against you in the legal system, but you do have options and defense lawyer J. Dallo of Dallo Law, P.C. can help you navigate them. He can examine the facts of the violation, determine a viable defense, and execute said defense with excellence in court. Regardless of the circumstances of your case, he will ensure every aspect is handled with dedication, professionalism, and attention to detail.
Call Dallo Law, P.C. today at 248-283-7000 to set up your first consultation free of charge. Dallo Law, P.C. accepts clients throughout the greater Oakland County and Macomb County, Michigan area.

"*" indicates required fields