The Second Amendment of the United States Constitution guarantees the right to bear arms. The FDA and the states, however, have the authority to limit the possession of weapons in the interest of public health and safety. In Michigan, it is unlawful to carry a concealed weapon without a license outside of home. Violating these regulations can result in severe consequences involving stiff fines and imprisonment.
If an individual is arrested for carrying a concealed weapon, it is essential to seek the legal counsel of an experienced Michigan firearm attorney. Over the years, Dallo Law, P.C. has achieved very favorable outcomes for individuals accused of serious criminal charges, including gun offenses. Don’t wait another moment and contact us to receive assistance in your case.
Concealed Weapon Attorneys in Oakland County, MI
If you have been charged and arrested for carrying a concealed weapon in Michigan, contact Dallo Law, P.C.. These charges could have a significant impact on your future, and they should be taken seriously. We want to help you fight for your freedom by providing excellent legal services and representation.
Criminal defense attorney J. Dallo at Dallo Law, P.C. has offices in Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, but accepts clients throughout the greater Oakland County and Macomb County area. Call him now at (248) 283-7000 to schedule a free, initial consultation. He can work with you one-on-one to protect your rights.
- Michigan Concealed Weapon Laws
- Prohibited Concealed Weapon Places in Michigan
- Additional Resources for Carrying a Concealed Weapon
Michigan Concealed Weapon Laws
The state of Michigan is a “shall” issue state, meaning that licensing authorities must issue a concealed handgun license if the applicant meets certain qualifications. The title also means that an individual is required to have a concealed carry permit, which anyone can acquire by submitting an application to their local law enforcement agency. The minimum age to carry a concealed weapon is 21. All applicants must be a U.S. citizen and a resident of Michigan for at least 6 months prior to submitting the application.
According to Michigan Penal Code 750.227, there are several weapons that are prohibited in the state. These include a dagger, dirk, stiletto, a double-edged non-folding stabbing instrument of any length, a concealed pistol, or any other dangerous weapon defined by the law.
Penalties for carrying a weapon in Michigan can be harsh. Of course, the severity of the conviction depends on the specific circumstances surrounding the act. For example, violating Michigan Penal Code 750.227 is a felony punishable by up to five years in prison and up to $2,500 in fines. On the other hand, violating Michigan Penal Code 750.234d may result in a misdemeanor.
Prohibited Concealed Weapon Places in Michigan
In Michigan, it is illegal to carry a firearm in certain places, even if an individual has a license. According to Michigan Penal Code 750.234d, the prohibited places include:
- Financial institutions
- Churches or other houses of religious worship
- Sports or entertainment facilities
- Schools or day care centers
- Bars or liquor stores
A person convicted of carrying a concealed weapon in these venues may face a misdemeanor which is punishable by up to $100 in fines and/or up to 90 days of jail time. If you’ve been accused of carrying a concealed weapon in a prohibited area, it is best to contact an attorney right away. A skilled criminal defense lawyer can craft a reasonable defense for you. Attorney Dallo does not only provide the skill, but he brings his criminal defense experience, hard work, and tenacity with him too, along with a team of professionals fighting on your behalf!
Additional Resources for Carrying a Concealed Weapon
Concealed Pistol Applications and Instructions: Michigan State Police – Visit the official website for the Michigan State Police to find more information about concealed pistol applications. Click the link to download forms, instructions, and other related documents.
Michigan Penal Code: Concealed Weapon Charges – Visit the official website for the Michigan Legislature to view Michigan Penal Code 750.227. Under this section of the Penal Code, you can find what constitutes the concealed weapon offense and penalties.
Michigan Penal Code: Concealed Weapon Prohibited Areas – Visit the official website for the Michigan Legislature to view Michigan Penal Code 750.234d. Under this section of the Penal Code, you can read about possession of firearm on certain prohibited premises. The page categorizes the offense as a misdemeanor.
Firearm Offense Attorney in Bloomfield Hills, MI
If you have been charged for carrying a concealed weapon, contact Dallo Law, P.C.. J. Dallo is a skilled Michigan concealed weapon attorney. No matter the charge, he can utilize his years of experience in criminal defense to help clients you get a favorable outcome for your case.
Dallo Law, P.C. has offices set up in Bloomfield Hills but accepts clients throughout the state of Michigan including Pontiac, Royal Oak, Rochester, Novi, Mount Clemens, Roseville, St. Clair Shores, and Utica. You can contact Michigan firearms lawyer J. Dallo at (248) 283-7000 to set up your free first consultation.